God Wore Diapers

Karl Barth,
The brilliant German theologian
Was once asked what he considered
To be the most profound thought
That had ever entered his brain.

After a few seconds, Barth answered,
“Jesus loves me this I know
For the Bible tells me so.”

After I read this story
And thought through the profound,
Yet simplistic implications
Of this great theologian’s answer,
I asked myself the same question.

Unlike Karl Barth,
It took me several days
Of reflection to come up with an answer.
To me the most profound thought
That has entered my mind
Is the fact that God wore diapers!

Yes, God wore diapers!
The Incarnation teaches
That Jesus is God himself,
Not like God, but is God.

Concerning his human nature,
He is not God appearing as a man,
He is really a man.
Jesus Christ is not only a man
Or only God,
He is God who became a man.

Think of it, God who became a man.
He did not cease to be God
When he became a man,
He did not exchange divinity for humanity,
Rather he assumed humanity,
So that, as a result of the incarnation,
Jesus is both human and divine,
The God-man!

This is the Incarnation.
Jesus is one hundred percent God
And one hundred percent man.
God has, indeed, worn diapers.

Can you imagine that?
The God of this great and vast universe
Has worn diapers.
Now that is, indeed, profound!

About Wesselhoft, Paul

Retired U.S. Army (Airborne Ranger) Chaplain; State Representative, Oklahoma House of Representatives; Representative, Citizen Potawatomi Nation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to God Wore Diapers

Leave a comment